We’re a bit late on this one, but Calgary animators (and current Chris J. Melnychuk Scholarship mentors) Amanda Forbis & Wendy Tilby will be receiving the Winsor McCay Award for lifetime contribution to animation at this year’s Annie Awards in February.

This is, to put it mildly, a really big deal. Past winners include everyone from Walt Disney, Faith Hubley and Norman McLaren to Tim Burton, Hayao Miyazaki and Terry Gilliam. This year, they’ll be honoured alongside Disney character animator James Baxter and Spongebob Squarepants creator Stephen Hillenburg.

This is a perfect chance to catch up on some of their films online. Huge congrats to two of our favourite artists!

PS – Just for a sense, here are the last few winners:

403.261.5767 | info@quickdrawanimation.ca | 2011 10 Ave SW, Calgary, AB, T3C 0K4 |

© 2023 Quickdraw Animation Society. All rights reserved.